What Do Hurricane Categories Stand For?

If you are living in the Sunshine State, it is worthwhile becoming familiar with how tropical storms are classified and what they can mean for you. Florida is vulnerable to experiencing a particularly severe hurricane season.  

The official start date of the hurricane season is June 1st, and it typically lasts until November 30th, with August and September seeing the most of the activity. It's critical to keep safe during this six-month time and to prepare for the worse.  

If you want to be proactive about the situation, have a look at the more thorough breakdown of the several hurricane classifications that is provided below. 

The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale 

The Saffir-Simpson hurricane wind scale uses a numerical scale from 1 to 5, with 1 being the weakest and 5 being the strongest, to classify hurricanes. The scale's height of wind from a hurricane is used to determine results in its present form, which was developed in 2010.  

Category 1  

Even though it falls into the lowest category on the scale, a category 1 hurricane can still be quite dangerous and seriously harm property. A category 1 hurricane typically has a minimum peak wind speed of 75 mph and maximum peak wind speeds of up to 95 mph. These wind speeds are sufficient to rip off roofs, bring down power lines, and maybe bring on flooding close to the water.   

Category 2

Hurricanes in category 2 are capable of causing significant damage due to their wind speeds, which range from 96 to 110 miles per hour.  One particularly destructive category 2 hurricane is Hurricane Sally. The storm, which was initially a category 1, grew stronger and into a more hazardous category.  A category 2 hurricane may cause extensive power outages in cities that last for several weeks.  

Category 3

Millions of people in the United States and abroad were impacted by Category 3 Hurricane Katrina, which was an especially destructive storm.  Extreme damage is frequently caused by category 3 storms, which can uproot trees, blow off entire roofs, and even produce floods on second and third stories of structures. (due to the storm surge, a phenomenon that occurs when a storm causes water to rise unusually). Their wind gusts can reach 130 mph, with a minimum of 111 mph, and are typically classified as "major hurricanes." 

Category 4

Category 4 Hurricanes are known to wreak catastrophic damage to the area they touch, severely weakening the structural integrity of structures and frequently removing entire roofs. In 2017, Hurricane Irma was a category 4 hurricane.  With widespread power outages, massive floods, and the total destruction of buildings, category 4 hurricanes will certainly make a region uninhabitable for months at a time.  Make sure you can access the information you need digitally, such as insurance policies, deeds, etc., in case you are threatened by a hurricane. It is crucial that you keep your important documents safe should a hurricane threaten your area. It is important to note that a category 4 hurricane could prevent you from returning to your home for a while. 

Category 5

The strongest hurricanes, which are classified as category 5, are likely to cause major damage and significant flooding, especially on higher floors of buildings. Category 5 Hurricane Rita struck the United States in 2005, completely destroying a number of commercial structures.  Winds from category 5 hurricanes can reach 157 miles per hour or more, completely destroying smaller structures. It is vital that you understand how to prepare yourself if a hurricane of this size begins to arise since they can have unfathomably disastrous effects.  

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any queries about the repairs and restoration needed after a hurricane has struck; we are ready to assist,or call us at 407-768-2707.